Reference User Group
What do we do? - Outreach

RUG products:

The EPOCA consortium combines the expertise of more than 160 scientists from different fields of marine research. The results of this multi-disciplinary collaboration are presented to the non-scientific community (business leaders, organisations and the general public) to inform about the risks and what we can do to avoid the tipping points1 related to ocean acidification (in terms of CO2 emissions targets). The EPOCA strategy aims to contribute high quality science directly to expert groups and committees, to feed information directly to policy-makers through government and intergovernmental committees, and to give clear information to the media with scientists knowledgeable in communication through the formation of the EPOCA Reference User Group (RUG) of targeted stakeholders.  The EPOCA RUG has proved a major success and has resulted in the creation of the International Ocean Acidification RUG which covers the needs of the four major European ocean acidification projects: EPOCA, BIOACID, UKOAR and MedSeA.

The International RUG, chaired by Professor Dan Laffoley (IUCN/WCPA), is working with these projects to examine in detail the user related issues (the types of data, analyses and products that are most useful to managers, policy advisers, decision makers and politicians, the format and nature of key messages arising from the EPOCA research, and the dissemination procedures) RUG members also feedback key science developments into their own sector/parent organisation during the life time of the project.  The RUG has published two highly acclaimed publications – ‘Ocean Acidification - The Facts’ and ‘Ocean Acidification - Questions Answered’ and will be producing the Monaco Ocean Acidification Action Plan in 2011.

1 the critical points (thresholds) in an evolving situation that leads to a new and irreversible development (state).

RUG members:

  • Bernard Avril, European Science Foundation
  • John Baxter, Scottish Natural Heritage
  • Nicolas Bériot, Observatoire National sur les Effets du Réchauffement Climatique
  • Jelle Bijma, Alfred Wegener Institute
  • Valentina Bosetti, Fondazione Eni Enrico Mattei
  • Gail Cardew (corresponding member), Royal Institution
  • Ned Cyr, NOAA
  • William Eichbaum, WWF
  • Tony Espie, BP
  • Jean-Pierre Gattuso, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique
  • Marion Gehlen, The Laboratoire des Sciences du Climat et de l’Environnement
  • Peter Gullestad, Directorate of Fisheries, Norway
  • Lynne Hale, The Nature Conservancy
  • Hermann Held, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research
  • Dan Laffoley, IUCN/WCPA
  • Mojib Latif, IFM-GEOMAR
  • Jihyun Lee, Convention on Biological Diversity, United Nations Environment Programme
  • Elisabeth Lipiatou, Environment DG, EU
  • Carl Lundin, International Union for Conservation of Nature
  • Nafees Meah (Represented by Jolene Cook), Department of Energy and Climate Change
  • Evin McGovern, Marine Institute, Eire
  • Kevin Noone, Stockholm University
  • Jim Orr, The Laboratoire des Sciences du Climat et de l’Environnement
  • Tom Pickerell, Shellfish Association
  • Emily Pidgeon, Conservation International
  • Stefan Rahmstorf, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research
  • Ulf Riebesell, IFM-GEOMAR
  • David Santillo, Greenpeace
  • Sybil Seitzinger (Represented by Wendy Braodgate, International Geosphere-Biosphere Programme
  • Kristian Teleki, SeaWeb
  • Carol Turley, Plymouth Marine Laboratory
  • Robert Watson, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
  • David Welsh, Rolls-Royce
  • Chris West, UK Climate Impacts Programme
  • Phil Williamson, University of East Anglia
  • Patrizia Ziveri, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona

 This web site is hosted by Observatoire Océanologique de Villefranche sur Mer